2010 msd - Kawasaki Teryx Forums: Kawasaki UTV Teryx Forum
Kawasaki Teryx Performance Discussions Kawasaki Teryx performance discussions.
Engine mods, CDI boxes, exhausts, etc.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-13-2011, 01:24 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

2010 msd

I am not new to programmers or plug in boxes, but i am new to them when they are installed on an ATV. I have always had them on my diesel trucks.

My questions are...

When putting something like an MSD on your teryx, do you need to have the teryx modded in any other way?

Will adding the MSD increase the likelyhood of breaking the engine?

The power that is added, does it re-write the fuel mapping, or is all the power gained based on the eliminating the top end limiter?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-13-2011, 06:20 PM

On a stock machine with just a MSD, your gaining more top speed by raising the rpm limiter and I think most advance the timing some for some additional power.

2010 Teryx
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-13-2011, 06:25 PM

The Charge FI modifies the stock fuel flow rate, and timing advance which is fully user adjustable via the "spreadsheet" style software it comes with. You can add or take away fuel based on throttle position and rpm. The timing is also added to the factory advance, it is based on map and rpm.
As far as modifications, you will most likely get oil pushed in the intake if you raise the rev limiter past 8600 or so. IMO the Msd a good choice for noticable power gains.
I also recall reading somewhere that the teryx timing is retarded 12 def until you reach 10 mph.

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-14-2011, 05:41 AM Thread Starter

Good info. So, is the MSD an adjustable type box? Or does it come pre-programmed with settings in it and then just plug and play?