Teryx HQ banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am not new to programmers or plug in boxes, but i am new to them when they are installed on an ATV. I have always had them on my diesel trucks.

My questions are...

When putting something like an MSD on your teryx, do you need to have the teryx modded in any other way?

Will adding the MSD increase the likelyhood of breaking the engine?

The power that is added, does it re-write the fuel mapping, or is all the power gained based on the eliminating the top end limiter?

·
Registered
12 Posts
The Charge FI modifies the stock fuel flow rate, and timing advance which is fully user adjustable via the "spreadsheet" style software it comes with. You can add or take away fuel based on throttle position and rpm. The timing is also added to the factory advance, it is based on map and rpm.
As far as modifications, you will most likely get oil pushed in the intake if you raise the rev limiter past 8600 or so. IMO the Msd a good choice for noticable power gains.
I also recall reading somewhere that the teryx timing is retarded 12 def until you reach 10 mph.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Good info. So, is the MSD an adjustable type box? Or does it come pre-programmed with settings in it and then just plug and play?

The reason i ask if it is adjustable, for now I am going to leave most everything stock, and then as time goes on and learn more about my machine and get a plan on what I want it to be able to do, i will then start making mods, but for now it is just something me amd my wife can enjoy riding dirt roads.

·
Registered
3,999 Posts
The Charge FI modifies the stock fuel flow rate, and timing advance which is fully user adjustable via the "spreadsheet" style software it comes with. You can add or take away fuel based on throttle position and rpm. The timing is also added to the factory advance, it is based on map and rpm.