Teryx HQ banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So i made a dumb mistake, and let some friends we were camping with take the Teryx for a spin (dumb...I know but I am trying to get them hooked) and they left the park brake on.

Now when i try hit the beast's park brake, it goes almost to the floor before it engages. And then it barely holds on.

What do i need to do to fix it?

Is it associated with the front, or rear brakes?
Is there an adjustment cable?

Thanks,

·
CommanderTalk.com
2,799 Posts
My friend, I am not a mechanic, however, I have heard of this happening before. Your rear sealed wet brake is toast. You will need to have it replaced.

Sorry for the bad news...that brake is kinda out of site our of mind...I know I have forgot a few times, but never drove with it on. I am now in the habit of just pulling the lever as soon as I get in.

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
AWE DAM.....

It is the Wet Brake?

That sucks.

Is that a do it yourself type job?

Any input anyone has would be great!

·
CommanderTalk.com
2,799 Posts
I do not know how complex the job is to replace that wet brake.

Do you have access to a service manual?

·
Registered
193 Posts
The first Teryx I drove was a test drive at the dealers. I was unhappy it did not preform better. At the end of the 'test'...discovered the emergency brake was on. I wonder who they sold that Teryx to?

I've been thinking of a light...a bright one....dead center in front of the steering wheel, since it's far to easy to leave it on. Just not sure how to hook up.

Somebody come up with the details on how to make that worth. I'm not smart enough. I think it would be a very worthwhile mod.

·
Registered
293 Posts
just put a cover over the gear shifter that says"TURN OFF THE PARKING BRAKE",then when they turn it off they can flip the cover over and go to town!

·
CommanderTalk.com
2,799 Posts